Extreme Makeover Me Edition

picture-1The other day I was listening to a podcast and the guest and host were talking about how we often want God to work in our lives like Ty Pennington in the show Extreme Home Makeover.  We would like for Him to show up, send us off to Disney World, and bring us back once everything was fixed up and give us the keys to a new, happy, perfect life.  The perfect Extreme Me Makeover.  

I know that despite my desire for the quick fix, God is in fact doing an Extreme Me Makeover. He is transforming me, taking the run-down dump that is my life and making it into something new.  But it doesn’t look anything like the TV show.  He doesn’t do it while I am out having fun, but involves me in the process.  He calls me to work through the junk in my life rather than just cleaning it up for me. And it isn’t always a pretty process –sometimes there is some very messy demolition required. 

The good news is that He is working with me.  He is showing which walls need to be taken down.  He is strengthening the foundation, and putting in windows that let light shine where once there was only darkness.  And this makeover isn’t for me.  It is for Him, the one who is now dwelling within.  He is taking this mess and turning it into a place fit for the King of Kings to inhabit.  

7 Comments

Filed under Transformation

7 responses to “Extreme Makeover Me Edition

  1. Great post Jeff. We ALL need a makeover…every day of the week.

    Philippians 3:14
    “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus”

    Your brother in ‘construction’,
    Mike

  2. Always a good word from you..and AMEN! I am sure glad He has both GRACE and truth.

  3. Oh Oh, I think my God doesn’t have a building permit….

  4. Very well said Jeff. We would not really appreciate the “work” being done if we were not involved in the process and endure the pain that goes with it.

  5. George

    great thoughts, i enjoyed reading, may God continue to work in your life and ministry.

  6. I’ve wished for a quick transformation many times! 🙂

    “Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”
    ~ Philippians 4:11 KJV

    Longing to be MORE like Jesus…

  7. This was an excellent thing for me to read right now. I’ve been sensing some make-over plans for a while I think, however, I don’t recall signing up to be on the show 🙂

    I guess much like the families experience, though we truly desire something new and better, there’s some comfort in what we have now. Change is often daunting, even if the result will be positive. Again, great post.

    Good Writing & God Bless,
    Cheryl Pickett