Where are you?

Recently I came across a web site that I really like that introduces the concept of being second.  Here is a short video clip of Greg Ellis (it is Super Bowl weekend) to check out and then I will continue with my thoughts about the idea of being second.

 

 

 

I love the power of these videos to share the story of what God is doing to glorify Himself through these individuals.  And I also realize they are meant for those who do not believe in Jesus as the Christ.  But I found myself asking the question “Should I be second?”

 

Philippians 2:1-4 says

“If you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any fellowship with the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and purpose. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.”

 

All to often I wrestle with trying to be first. I am constantly learning to give God His rightful position and submit to His will and not mine.  But to truly be following Christ, I can not keep my position in second.  I must be third, always putting others interests above my own.

Today I will try.  I will try to be less selfish and more loving to others.  I will try to give rather than take.  I will try serve rather than be served.  I will fail at times, but I will try. And with His help, today I will make a difference in the lives of others, bringing His kingdom to earth in little ways.  

I am third.  Where are you?

2 Comments

Filed under Discipleship, Questions, Transformation

2 responses to “Where are you?

  1. writeasrain

    That is a good reminder for us all. We were first and foremost created to praise God and we are his servants…so we are to be encouragers and doers of his word. Thanks for the gentle reminder of our priviledge and our responsibilities. God first, others second and ourselves third…the world can be changed if everyone committed themselves to living that way! http://www.writeasrain.wordpress.com

  2. Any Kanakuk peeps out there? I know this is an “award” they give to some of their best counselors. The “I am third” award. Right on, Jeff!