Feet for the Path

 img_45511

 

 

My steps have held to your paths; my feet have not slipped.  Psalm 17:5

 

 

 

 

“God is good, His ways are not our ways, His paths are better than ours.”   These are all things I know to be true.  They are phrases that  I have said to others before.  And despite how “Christian”, how hollow or cheesy they sound, I believe them with everything in me.

Lately I have been given the chance to put these to the test in multiple levels.  We have had numerous friends who have lost their jobs over the past few months.  This has been a difficult time seeing people you work with and care about have a life change of this nature forced upon them.  But, I believe that God is good, His ways are not our ways, His paths are better than ours. 

A few weeks ago, my 38 year old brother-in-law went in for a Dr. appointment and came out with news that there may be something wrong with his heart.  Days later he was in the hospital due to ventricular tachycardia and a few days later he received an implantable cardioverter-defibrillator.  This is not the path that he, my sister and their six young children would have chosen, but I believe that God is good, His ways are not our ways, His paths are better than ours.

My mother-in-law is battling cancer.  She has been for a little over a year now.  She has a few good days, but most are not.  She also has COPD so not only is she dealing with the pain of the cancer, but also struggles to get her breath after walking across a room.  The COPD is a result of years of smoking cigarettes and the path she has chosen to walk, but His path would have been better.  But despite her health condition, I know that He is good and His ways are not our ways.

Yesterday we received a call to let us know that the company my wife is working for is re-structuring and that as of next Friday they will no longer be needing her services.  Needless to say it wasn’t our best day, but it was far from our worst.  We don’t know what God has in store for us next, but we trust in His provision.  I’m sure that we will experience many emotional roller coasters and times of doubting what we say we believe, but I know that God is good, His ways are not our ways, and His paths are better than ours.

picture-1One day when I was hiking in Israel I saw several ibex (think as the deer pants for the water)  on the steep cliffs of the Judean wilderness.  These ibex were able to move quickly on steep, narrow paths where other animals dared not set foot.  These ibex were made for this, their feet designed for the rocky, slippery, terrain of the cliffs.  They were given the feet necessary to walk the path God had created for them.

This is my prayer for our family, our friends, for you if you are reading this.  I pray not for a smooth, easy path.  Not for the path that I would choose. You see, I believe that He is good, that His ways are not our ways, and the His paths are not our paths.  May He grant us the feet to walk the path He has for us, no matter how steep and difficult that path may seem, and may we be faithful to simply put one foot in front of the other.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Faith, Provision

3 responses to “Feet for the Path

  1. Jeff and Julie,

    I am so sorry to hear about Julie’s job!

    Speaking from personal experience, I am confident that God is going to have something really cool for her to do really soon.

    Julie, you are really talented and some new employer will be lucky to have you work for them.

    Our prayers are with you guys!

    miah and the fam.

  2. First of all, I’m so sorry that your family is going through some really difficult times. My heart goes out to you, and prayers are being sent.

    I think you’re right, though. No matter how Christianese-sounding that phrase is about his paths being better than ours, it’s what brings hope and light to those of us who follow him. I join you in praying that he gives all of us the feet to walk the path that he has for us, and to always be able to feel him guiding us all the way to the end.

    I can’t imagine walking without him.

  3. WV Grammy

    good post

    praying for you all

    we love you