“Friday Photos”

One of the things you may not know about me is I love taking photos.  Mostly I love landscape and wildlife photography.  I have been thinking about sharing some of the thousands of photos I have taken on my trips to Israel with you and decided that having a “Friday Photo” post may be a great way to do that.  Some of the photos I like simply because of the photo, some may not be a great photo but will have some significance either historically or personally.  My plan is to comment on the photo, or provide a link to some background information for you.

Let me know what you think about this idea, as I love your feedback.

 

Todays “Friday Photo” is of Masada.  There is too much of a story to tell in a short blog post, so if you don’t know about Masada, take a second to check out the link. 

 

img_4578

10 Comments

Filed under Desert, History, Israel, Photo

10 responses to ““Friday Photos”

  1. John

    I think this is a really good idea Jeff & a great way to kick it off with Masada.

    • jeffabel

      John,

      Masada was one of those places that was very powerful and moving. I can’t see the photo without being taken back there. We walked up the siege ramp on the western side and down the snake path on the eastern side, no touristy ride up the lift for us.

  2. Sweet! I dabble in a little photography myself. Might I suggest “Friday Fotos”? Just a thought. Feel free to stick with the “ph”.

    Brings up a funny memory, though. A couple of my friends and I were driving to the airport in Pittsburg to pick up another friend who was returning from basic training. Along the way there was this tiny building in a parking lot with a sign the read “Foto Hut”. One of my friends verbalized it, as we often seem to read signs as we drive – ever notice that? Anyway, he said “foe – two hut…wonder what they do?” And, I still razz him about it today. He’s the same guy who read the following sign, “Patio Sale” and asked, “What’s a pae-she-o?” So funny.

    Enough of that, how many times have you been Israel?

    • jeffabel

      Gary,

      I’ve been to Israel twice – May of 2005 and 2007 (though I like to say 1 1/2 times b/c the 2007 trip was cut short). Julie and I are hoping to go again either this fall or next May with a group of our alumni.

      I debated the “Foto” vs. “Photo” idea and am not sold on the “ph”. If anyone else wants to comment – I’ll go with the majority on this one : )

      As for the stories – that is awesome, especially that you can still give him a hard time about it.

      Thanks for the comments and be blessed brother.

      Jeff

  3. I think it is great.

    That is what I do every chance I get.

    I don’t write a whole lot about each picture.

    But the visitor can get a lot from the picture itself.

    You may consider a WP plugin that I use called PhotoQ.

    You can set up a queue and it will auto post for you.

    Take care friend.

  4. WV Grammy

    Are you posting the manger picture?

  5. Brandon

    Hey Jeff- love the photo friday concept.

    Photography is a huge part of what I do for a living right now and you (believe it or not) are a big part of me getting into photography.

    When I was at FFI in fall 01 you lent me your 300mm telephoto for a hiking trip up to Pikes Peak. I probably shot 4 or 5 rolls of film that day and learned a lot about how my camera (my first SLR) worked. That trip is a huge part of why I got into photography (and later graphic design). So, thanks a lot!

    I sent you an email about the Masada pic.

  6. what a priveledge to go to the places Jesus walked.
    only in my dreams would I be able to, until I checked out your website and am now seeing some of the places through your photos, thank you so much for this wonderful treat.