Thankful

As I sit in the stillness of this early Thanksgiving morning, I have been reflecting on  all of the the things I am thankful for.

I am thankful for big things like God’s grace and mercy.  For His patience and goodness.  For His holiness and desire to make me holy.  Did I mention His patience.  I am thankful that He loved us enough to join us, to live among us and die for us.

I am thankful for my wife and kids.  For their smiles and laughs, for their love, for knowing that we are in this for the long haul and that we are always there for each other.

I am thankful  for extended family and for friends that are like family.

I am thankful for heath, for jobs that more than provide for our needs and allow us to use our giftings and strengths.

I am thankful for our home.  For our kids to have a place to grow up, and for us to have a place to share life with others.

I am thankful that we live in Colorado.  For sunrises and sunsets, blue skies and powder snow. For mountains and elk.  For the breath taking beauty that God surrounds us with each day and that I shamefully take for granted all too often.

I am thankful for little things – french pressed coffee, smartwool socks and fleece pullovers.  For my iPhone and my Mac.  For bacon & eggs and biscuits & gravy.  For good music and for great podcasts, for high speed internet and all the information available at the click of a button.

And I am thankful you stopped by to read this.

What are you thankful for?

2 Comments

Filed under Thanksgiving

2 responses to “Thankful

  1. I thankful for finding what really matters in life-
    such my Lord and Savior, trying to not allow my headaches rule every aspect of my life (like they have been since July of last year), finally realizing who my true, faithful and brutally honest friends are
    I’m so lucky and privialged to wake up to
    God’s creation- whether it be the blinding sunrise (window facing the east :|), seeing the beautiful snow, the Rocky Mountains everyday and knowing I’m one of the s
    all minority of people that can truely say, ” The mountains really look different everyday.”
    In all honesty, the two most gratifying and thankful things I can say, though are, one: I’m thankful for our troops who voluneer to protect and serve with 1. Integrity first, 2. Service before self and, excellence in all we do. ( u.s Air Force core values althogh I’m a full blown ARMY brat!!)
    and secondly, I am so thankful my parents (mostly my mama bear), are/is handicapped. She has taught me how to care for others, how to learn about medicine and help me realize to my full extent my true calling in life- medicine.

  2. julieabel

    I am SO thankful for you as my wonderful husband. As I have often said, stability in my crazy world! I am thankful for our beautiful children and the sweet spirit they bring to our home. I am thankful for my job- doing something I truly love and have a passion for. I am thankful for the friends that often fill our home. I am thankful for Thanksgiving Day blend coffee, the computer support you provide my Mac, football, and long walks in the CO sunshine.