Resurrection In 2013

res·ur·rec·tion [rez-uh-rek-shuh n]

noun

1. the act of rising from the dead.
2. a rising again, as from decay, disuse, etc.; revival

Bringing the Blog Back To Life

I’ve been thinking it might  be time to resuscitate this little space on the web. To give me some space to share as I work though my thoughts about what I’m reading and learning and how I’m being challenged spiritually. It’s been well over a year and a half since I’ve posted new content, but I received a end-of-year report from WordPress indicating that I had over 3,900 people find this blog even though I left it for dead. Proof that God continues to use small things, things we don’t think are a very big deal. Thanks to everyone who found this site while it lay silent, I hope you continue to find valuable insights as I attempt to bring it back to life.

What You Can Expect

So what will I blog about? Good question. I just finished reading through the Bible via a nifty little app/ website called YouVersion and their Chronological Plan. It gave me great accountability, and organized the text of the Scriptures in the order they occurred. They have quite a few plans and I’d recommend you check it out. But it is 2o13 and I’ve been debating for the past week or so what to do next. Do I tackle the whole of Scripture again? Do I blog about whatever I’m reading? My answer – I’m going to read 1 chapter out of the Gospels a day for a year, working my way through the words of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John and then starting over. It’s not about quantity, but about diving into each chapter and finding out what is hiding below the surface. And I’m going to be reading them in David Stern’s Jewish New Testament, and using his companion Jewish New Testament Commentary as well.
As I read through the Gospels, I’ll share my thoughts, insights, questions, here as time allows. I’ll also use this space to share other thoughts about faith, life, current events as it relates to the theme of the blog. How often will I post? I’m not sure. Some weeks it may be every day. Others, you may not hear from me. I know that isn’t a great blogging strategy, it doesn’t help “build an audience”. But honestly, that’s not why I write here. I want this to be a place where I can wrestle, ponder and wander through the text. And I hope it is a space where you feel comfortable joining me.
Thus as I type, I try to breathe life back into this space. To resurrect it from the dead, and to make it a place where in some small sense I partner with God in bringing His Kingdom to Earth.
Comments Off on Resurrection In 2013

Filed under Welcome

Comments are closed.