Things That Make You Go Hmmmm

As I’m reading through the Gospels I keep coming across familiar stories, stories I have heard and read many times. Often something in those stories jumps out in a new way. Sometimes I see something in a story and make a connection to another passage that I didn’t know was connected. And still other times I find passages that I just don’t get. I’m not sure what Jesus was saying and I have no idea how his disciples would have heard and understood his words. I’m left scratching my head and saying “Hmmmmmm”.

Matthew 16 ends with one of those passages. Jesus has told his disciples about his impending death, rebuked Peter, and told them that they must take up their cross and follow him. That it will do them no good to gain the whole world if in turn they forfeit their soul.

Then he says:

For the Son of Man is going to come in his Father’s glory with his angels, and then he will reward each person according to what they have done. “Truly I tell you, some who are standing here will not taste death before they see the Son of Man coming in his kingdom.”

And as I read those words I say “Hmmmmm”. What does that mean? Is this about the second coming of Christ? Is one of them still alive? Has it already happened? Or is this about the Kingdom of Heaven that was already near that Jesus and John taught about? Maybe it’s time to dance.

Hmmmmmmmm. What say you?

Comments Off on Things That Make You Go Hmmmm

Filed under Scripture

Comments are closed.