A Simple Prayer

As Jesus and his disciples were leaving Jericho and walking towards Jerusalem a large crowd had gathered. As they passed, two blind men were sitting by the side of the road and shouted “Lord, Son of David, have pity on us!” But the crowd began to scold them, telling them to be quiet. Instead, they call out even louder, “Lord! Son of David, have pity on us!”Jesus stopped and asked them what they wanted him to do for them. “Lord, open our eyes.” Jesus, filled with tenderness and compassion, touched their eyes  and they received their sight and followed him.

Often times I just don’t know what or how to pray. There is so much that needs prayer, yet so many distractions. And how do you begin to talk with God? “Excuse me, um, God, it’s me again. I have a few thing’s I’d like to talk to you about.” Or more formally, “Dear Lord, …”.

What I love about this passage is the straightforwardness of these men, and the simplicity of their call out to God. “Lord, Son of David, have pity on us!” That’s a prayer we can all pray. A prayer for when you have no other words. A prayer pretty similar to a simple prayer that believers have been praying for centuries known as the Jesus Prayer which is rooted in the prayer of the publican in Luke 18:13

“Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.”

It’s a simple prayer, with significant implications. So I invite you to join me in praying it. To pray it throughout the day, throughout the week. And to pray it again when you hear the voices that say, “Be quiet. Don’t bother Him. He’s not interested in helping you.” Especially then. Pray it louder.

“Lord, Son of David, have pity on us!”

“Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.”

Comments Off on A Simple Prayer

Filed under Scripture

Comments are closed.